Programme Steering Committee: Prof Deborah Ashby

Prof Deborah Ashby holds the Chair in Medical Statistics and Clinical Trials at Imperial College, London. Prior to her appointment in 2008, she held the Chair in Medical Statistics at Barts and the London, Queen Mary, University of London. She held academic appointments in Medical Statistics in the Department of Mathematical Sciences and Department of Public Health at the University of Liverpool from 1987-1997 and has an extensive teaching and statistical consultancy career. Her research interests are in clinical trials, systematic reviews, safety of medicines and the utility of Bayesian statistical approaches in these areas. Her current studies include research into gene therapy and other therapies for cystic fibrosis, management of pain, and prevention of diabetes.                                                                                                                         
She holds a 20% secondment as Director NIHR (National Institute for Health Research) Capacity Building for Statistics, Clinical Trials and Economics and is on the Commission on Human Medicines. She is a European expert for the European Medicines Evaluation Agency and a member of the NIHR Health Technology Assessment Commissioning Board. She has numerous publications in clinical trials, systematic reviews and observational studies on the efficacy and safety of therapies including substantive applications in a variety of clinical areas including cancer, cystic fibrosis, pain management and the safety of SSRI anti-depressants. She has also served on the editorial boards of several journals and the BMJ (British Medical Journal) Manuscript Meeting, and is statistical editor for the Cochrane Cystic Fibrosis and Genetics Disorders Group.
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       Prof Ashby is a member of the ADRIC Programme Steering Committee and the ADRIC Systematic Review Steering Group.